

## REFERENDUM PROCESS INFORMATION

# Wyoming Secretary of State's Office Election Division

This document summarizes key provisions of the referendum process in Wyoming. Refer to the Wyoming Constitution and statutes for applicable provisions.

#### Governance:

Wyoming Constitution Article 3 Section 52 and W.S. 22-24-401 through 22-24-420

#### **Requirements:**

The application for referendum must be filed with the Secretary of State. A fee of \$500 must accompany the application along with designation of a committee of three applicants, the act to be referred, and the names of at least one hundred (100) registered voters who will act as sponsors.

#### **Restrictions:**

The referendum shall not be applied to dedications of revenue, to appropriations, to local or special legislation, or to laws necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health or safety.

## **Committee:**

There must be a committee of three people (Committee of Applicants) who will be the principal contacts for the initiative, who may be served with legal notices and who will be responsible for statutory fees and costs.

#### **Certification for Circulation:**

After the application is filed, the Secretary of State holds a conference with the committee of applicants (the committee). If the application meets all constitutional and statutory requirements, the Secretary of State certifies the application. If certification is denied, the Secretary of State notifies the committee in writing of the grounds for denial.

## **Petitions:**

The Secretary of State develops the petition form which is the only form that may be circulated. The Secretary of State prepares petitions at the sponsor's expense in a number reasonably calculated to allow full circulation throughout the state.

#### **Circulation:**

Petitions are to be circulated throughout the state only by a sponsor/circulator and only in person. The committee may designate additional circulators by giving advance written notice to the Secretary of State of their names and addresses. Circulators may be paid, but shall not be compensated based upon the number of signatures gathered; nor, shall a circulator pay or offer to pay any compensation to another person for that person's signature. If paid circulators are used, a statement to that effect is printed on each petition page so that it is visible to petition signers.

Any person who signs a name other than his own or who knowingly signs his name more than once or who signs knowing that he is not a qualified registered voter or who makes a false affidavit or verification, upon conviction can be fined up to \$1000 or imprisoned up to one year, or both.

Before a petition is filed, it must be verified by the sponsor/circulator who personally circulated it. The committee must submit registered voter signatures representing 15% of those who voted in the preceding general election and 15% of those resident in at least two-thirds of Wyoming counties.

### **Filing the Petitions:**

Petitions may only be filed with the Secretary of State within 90 days after the adjournment of the legislative session at which the act was passed. After receiving the petitions, the Secretary of State reviews them and notifies the committee within 60 days as to whether or not enough valid signatures were obtained.

If the petition is determined to be properly filed, the referendum is placed on the ballot of the first general election held more than 180 days after adjournment of the legislative session at which the act was passed.

#### **Reporting:**

As noted in W.S. 22-24-405(b), the committee of applicants shall file receipt and expenditure reports as required by W.S. 22-25-106.

#### **Enactment:**

The measure is enacted if it receives approval of more than 50% of those voting in the general election. Election results are certified by the State Canvassing Board. An act rejected by referendum is void 30 days after certification of the election results.