Wyoming's Regular Rulemaking Process

Getting Started

State agencies may, at any time,
draft proposed rules in consultation
with the Attorney General.

When ready, the agency will seek
permission, from the Governor, to
proceed with rule making. When
approved, the agency then files a
proposed rules packet with the
Secretary of State’s Office,
containing a Notice of Intent,
Statement of Principal Reasons, and
text of the rules, in both a strike and
underscore format and a “clean”
format. The strike and underscore
makes it evident what rule language
is being removed and added.
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Public Comment

After receiving the Governor’s
approval to proceed, state agencies
must provide a minimum of 45 days
for public comment. At this time, an
agency notifies individuals and/or
organizations interested in its
rulemaking activities and may
publish the Notice of Intentin a
newspaper of general circulation.
Proposed rules are available to the
public on the Administrative Rules
System and the public may make
public comment to the agency by
using the link available on the
proposed rule record.

An agency is not required to have a
public hearing, but may choose to
do so during the public comment
period.

After Public Comment

If any agency does not have a public
hearing scheduled and is requested
to do so by 25 or more people, that
hearing must occur after the
scheduled public comment period.

Public comments, whether written
or oral, are reviewed and considered
by the agency. If there are
substantive changes, the agency
might decide not to pursue the rule
and instead withdraw it; or begin
the rule making process again by
redrafting the proposed rules and
beginning a new 45-day public
comment period.

Most often, the agency will make
minor modifications to the rules
based on the public comment,
adopt the proposed rule, and
proceed forward to final rule
filing / completion.

Completion

From the date of adoption, there is a
75-day time period in which the
Legislature reviews the rules and
provides feedback to the Governor;
the Attorney General’s Office
reviews the rules and makes a
recommendation to the Governor;
and the Governor signs the
certification page. Once signed, the
approval is delivered to the
Secretary of State’s Office for filing.

If the Governor disapproves the
rule, he may decide to veto the
entire rule and end the rule
promulgation; or he may line-item
veto a portion of the rule and
approve the remainder. For
line-item vetoes, the approved
portion of the rule is filed and the
disapproved portion is null and
void.

Following filing of its rule with the
Secretary of State, the agency has
10 days to mail notice to interested
persons that the rule has been filed.

The rule will remain effective until it
is superseded by another rule
(amended), is temporarily replaced
by an emergency rule, or is repealed
altogether.



Wyoming's Emergency Rulemaking Process

Getting Started

State agencies may draft emergen-
cy rules in consultation with the
Attorney General. Emergency rules
are used when the agency finds that
an emergency requires the agency
to proceed with rule making
without notice or opportunity for a
hearing.

When ready, the agency files an
emergency rules packet containing
a memorandum to the Governor
explaining the emergency, a
Statement of Principal Reasons, the
certification page, and the text of
the rules, in both a strike and
underscore format and a “clean”
format. The strike and underscore
makes it evident what rule language
is being removed and added.
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Completion

Once the agency adopts the rules,
the emergency rules packet is
provided to the Governor for his
review. The Governor may send the
emergency rules back to the agency
for further drafting, or he may sign
the emergency rules and send them
to the Secretary of State for filing.

Emergency rules are temporary
rules, effective for no longer than
120 days. The same emergency
rules may be refiled for an
additional 120-days, but cannot be
in place for more than 240 days.
Upon their expiration, the existing
regular rules once again become
effective until amended by another
rule.



