
 

 

 

 

 

New Notary Law Highlights - Effective July 1, 2021 
Wyoming Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts 

 
 
Remote Notarizations 

• Remote online notarizations (RON) 
o Platforms or other forms of communication technology 

• Remote ink notarizations (RIN) *for acknowledgments only* 
• Both RON and RIN will be permanently allowed in Wyoming effective July 1, 2021 

o RON/RIN are options only - traditional notarization can still be performed 

 

New Commission Process 
• Notary public term will change from 4 years to 6 years 
• Notary public fee will change from $30 to $60 
• The new law does NOT require a notary bond 

o Notaries may still obtain a bond and/or E&O insurance 
o The bond and/or insurance will NOT be filed with the County Clerk 

• The Secretary of State’s Office will email the appointment letter and certificate of 
commission directly to the notary public when the commission process is completed 
 

New Stamp/Seal 
• For any new or renewed commissions on or after July 1, a new stamp must be obtained 

with the following requirements 
o Be rectangular in shape and approximately 1 inch wide by 2 ½ inches long 
o Be in blue or black ink 
o Have a border outline in which the text contained within the border includes: 

 Your notary public commission name 
 The words “Notary Public” 
 The words “State of Wyoming” 
 Your commission ID number 
 The words “My commission expires” followed by the expiration date of 

your notary public commission 
o Not include images of the Great Seal of the State of Wyoming or any other 

image or content other than as prescribed in this statute 
o County of residence CANNOT be included on the stamp/seal 

 
 
 



 

 
 
 
 
 
Education Requirements 

• Notaries public will be required to take an exam prior to a new or renewed commission 
• Notaries public must certify that they completed an educational presentation 
• Updated information to be posted on our website and commission application soon 

 
 

Journal & Audio/Visual Recordings 
• Notaries public must log every notarial act in their journal 
• Journals may be maintained electronically or by hard copy 
• Remote notarizations are required to maintain an audio/visual recording of the act 

 

Fees for Notarial Acts 
• The fee to charge for a Notarial Act will change from $5 to $10 
• Notaries will be allowed to charge a technology fee 
• Notaries may charge a mileage fee 

 
 

Non-Residents and Bordering States 
• A non-resident may obtain a Wyoming notary public commission if employed in WY or if 

a spouse or legal dependent of the military on active duty in Wyoming 
• Physical notarizations may be performed in any bordering state if the bordering state 

recognizes the notary’s authority within that state 

 

Other notable areas 
• Prohibits a notarial act with respect to a record to which the notary or their spouse/civil 

partner is a party, or in which either of them has a direct beneficial interest 
• Language in the new law clarifies how to correct a notarial act 
• Allows the Secretary of State the authority to deny, revoke, refuse to renew, suspend or 

condition a commission  
 
 
For additional information, email notaries@wyo.gov or call 307.777.7370. 
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