Broker-Dealers & Agents


Questions about Broker-Dealer and Securities Agent registrations may be directed to 307.777.7370 or emailed to the Compliance Auditor. Correspondence may be directed to:

Compliance Division
Attn: Compliance Auditor
Herschler Building East, Suite 100
122 W 25th St
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0020

Broker-Dealer (BD) applicants must be registered in good standing with the Federal Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA).

  1. The Broker-Dealer filing fee for Wyoming is $250. That fee is paid from the Broker-Dealer's account at the FINRA/NASAA (North American Securities Administrators Association) Central Registration Depository (CRD), and no check should be sent to the Secretary of State. The Broker-Dealer must first amend its Form BD with CRD indicating the Broker-Dealer's desire to apply for registration in Wyoming. The fee must be credited to the State of Wyoming's CRD account.

  2. Shall supply their last annual audited financial statement prepared by an independent certified public accountant and filed with the SEC pursuant to SEC Rule 17a-5(d):

    1. If a recently formed broker-dealer does not have an audited financial statement, an unaudited financial statement may be substituted if it has been signed and dated within 90 days of the date of application by an appropriate officer or principal of the broker-dealer. A copy of SEC Form X-17A-5 (Focus Report Part II or IIA) may be used as an unaudited financial statement provided that document includes Part II or Part IIA dated within 90 days of the date of application.

    2. The unaudited financial statement shall contain a compilation of net capital figured according to net capital regulations contained in federal laws and rules.

  3. Shall supplement the audited financial statement with the latest SEC Form X-17a-5 (Focus Report Part II or IIA). If the applicant does not report using the FOCUS Part II or IIA, an applicant may instead submit an unaudited financial statement signed and dated within 90 days of the date of application by an appropriate officer or principal of the broker-dealer which contains a statement of net capital compliance.


Corporations not domiciled in Wyoming MAY need to seek a corporate Certificate of Authority to transact business in Wyoming as a foreign domiciled corporation pursuant to W.S. 17-16-1501. The Certificate of Authority is a requirement of the Wyoming Business Corporation Act not the Wyoming Uniform Securities Act. A Certificate of Authority is generally not required for firms doing business exclusively by mail or phone having no business location in the State and having no employees or assets employed in the State. Forms, questions & topics dealing with a Certificate of Authority are available only through the Secretary of State's Business Division at 307.777.7311.

The above form can be found on the NASAA website.